Quick access to online sites that answer common questions.
Last Updated: Apr 2, 2013
- Gale Virtual Reference Library (M.U. only)
Collection of over 100 reference e-books on many subjects which can be accessed individually or searched together as a single source.
- OhioLINK Electronic Book Center, Reference E-Books (M.U. only)
This collection includes many specialized encyclopedias, primarily in the humanities and social sciences, most published by ABC-CLIO, but an increasing number by others, such as Gale, Sage, Macmillan, and Scribner.
- Oxford Reference Online (M.U. only)
Offers over 175 subject reference works published by Oxford University Press.
- World Book Advanced (M.U. only)
Articles from the World Book Encyclopedia, an atlas and a dictionary, articles from earlier encyclopedia editions, magazine articles from EBSCO, animations, videos, sound clips, and Web links.
(Many, but not all, of these encyclopedias are online.)
See subject guides on specific subjects for many more online encyclopedias.
- Dictionary of American History, 3rd ed. (M.U. only)
This basic 10-volume encyclopedia broadly covers not only the facts and events of American history, but also the social, cultural, and economic developments which caused those events.
- Encyclopedia of Education, 2d ed. (M.U. only)
Authoritative essays on topics ranging from the beginnings of education in the US to international educational developments, including discussions of educational policies, judicial decisions, legislation, and descriptions of organizations in the field.
- Encyclopedia of Philosophy, 2nd ed. (M.U. only)
The first edition (1967) was the standard philosophy reference for more than a generation. This 10-volume second edition has many rewritten and new articles authored by scholars.
- Encyclopedia of Religion, 2nd ed. (M.U. only)
The second edition of this highly regarded encyclopedia includes almost all of the 2,750 original entries, many heavily updated, as well as approximately 600 entirely new articles.
- Encyclopedia of Sociology, 2nd ed. (M.U. only)
This classic reference has been updated to reflect the many changes in society and in the field of sociology in recent years.
- Gale Encyclopedia of Science (M.U. only)
A multi-volume encyclopedia covering the major areas of science, engineering, technology, mathematics, and the medical sciences.
- International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences
This massive scholarly work replaces the "International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences" which was published in 1968. "This Encyclopedia is the first attempt in a generation to map the social and behavioral sciences on a grand scale."
- International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences, 2nd ed. (M.U. only)
One of two multi-volume encyclopedias broadly covering the social sciences vying to replace the 1968 set. This covers scholarship and fields that have emerged and matured since 1968.
- New Dictionary of the History of Ideas (M.U. only)
The 1974 Dictionary has been entirely rewritten by a distinguished team of international scholars. Explores areas covered earlier (e.g., communism, linguistics, physics) and more recent ones (e.g., postmodernism, deconstruction and post-colonialism).
- Oxford Art Online (M.U. only)
Contains articles on every aspect of the visual arts, including artist biographies, surveys of the art of cultures and countries, and articles on styles, movements, and art forms.
- Oxford Music Online (M.U. only)
Encyclopedia on all aspects of music, including composers, performers, genres, forms, terminology, orchestras.
- Science Online (M.U. only)
Collection of essays on scientific topics reproduced from around 200 books published by Facts on File.
For Miami University's faculty, staff, and students. Type your question in the widget below and a librarian will respond momentarily.