International Sources
- International Free and Open Source Software Law ReviewA collaborative publication aiming to increase knowledge and understanding among lawyers about Free and Open Source Software issues. Topics covered include copyright, license implementation, license interpretation, software patents, open standards, case law and statutory changes.
- UNCITRALThe United Nations Commission on International Trade Law (UNCITRAL) was established by the General Assembly in 1966 to assist in resolving disparities in national laws governing international trade.
- Electronic Resource Guide from the ASILThe American Society of International Law is a nonprofit, nonpartisan, educational membership organization.
Comments (0)
Eletronic Books on The Supreme Court
- Burger Court: Justices, Rulings, and Legacy2000, ABC-CLIO, OhioLINK Electronic Book Center
- Fuller Court: Justices, Rulings, and Legacy2003, ABC-CLIO, OhioLINK Electronic Book Center
- Hughes Court: Justices, Rulings, and Legacy2002, ABC-CLIO, OhioLINK Electronic Book Center
- Stone Court: Justices, Rulings, and Legacy2001, ABC-CLIO, OhioLINK Electronic Book Center
- Taft Court: Justices, Rulings, and Legacy2003, ABC-CLIO, OhioLINK Electronic Book Center
- Taney Court: Justices, Rulings, and Legacy2003, ABC-CLIO, OhioLINK Electronic Book Center
- Waite Court: Justices, Rulings, and Legacy2003, ABC-CLIO, OhioLINK Electronic Book Center
- Warren Court: Justices, Rulings, and Legacy2001, ABC-CLIO, OhioLINK Electronic Book Center
- White Court: Justices, Rulings, and Legacy2004, ABC-CLIO, OhioLINK Electronic Book Center
Electronic Books
- Animals and the Law: A Sourcebook2001, ABC-CLIO, OhioLINK Electronic Book Center
- Children’s Rights: A Reference Handbook1996, ABC-CLIO, OhioLINK Electronic Book Center
- Children, Young Adults, and the Law: A Dictionary1998, ABC-CLIO, OhioLINK Electronic Book Center
- Civil Liberties in America: A Reference Handbook2004, ABC-CLIO, OhioLINK Electronic Book Center
- Constitutional Rights Sourcebook1999, ABC-CLIO, OhioLINK Electronic Book Center
- Courts and Trials: A Reference Handbook2003, ABC-CLIO, OhioLINK Electronic Book Center
- Crime in America: A Reference Handbook1996, ABC-CLIO, OhioLINK Electronic Book Center
- Equal Protection: Rights and Liberties under the Law2003, ABC-CLIO, OhioLINK Electronic Book Center
- Freedom of Speech: Rights and Liberties under the Law2003, ABC-CLIO, OhioLINK Electronic Book Center
- Great American Judges: An Encyclopedia2003, ABC-CLIO, OhioLINK Electronic Book Center
- Great American Lawyers: An Encyclopedia2001, ABC-CLIO, OhioLINK Electronic Book Center
- Homosexuality and the Law: A Dictionary2001, ABC-CLIO, OhioLINK Electronic Book Center
- Human Rights in the United States: A Dictionary and Documents2000, ABC-CLIO, OhioLINK Electronic Book Center
- Human Rights: A Reference Handbook2nd ed., 1998, ABC-CLIO, OhioLINK Electronic Book Center
- Native American Sovereignty On Trial: A Handbook with Cases, Laws, and Documents2003, ABC-CLIO, OhioLINK Electronic Book Center
- Native Americans and the Law: A Dictionary2000, ABC-CLIO, OhioLINK Electronic Book Center
- Pornography On Trial: A Handbook with Cases, Laws, and Documents2002, ABC-CLIO, OhioLINK Electronic Book Center
- Racial Justice in America: A Reference Handbook2003, ABC-CLIO, OhioLINK Electronic Book Center
- Racial Violence on Trial: A Handbook with Cases, Laws, and Documents2001, ABC-CLIO, OhioLINK Electronic Book Center
- Religion on Trial: A Handbook with Cases, Laws, and Documents2004, ABC-CLIO, OhioLINK Electronic Book Center
- Religious Freedom: Rights and Liberties under the Law2002, ABC-CLIO, OhioLINK Electronic Book Center
- Student Rights: A Reference Handbook2001, ABC-CLIO, OhioLINK Electronic Book Center
- Human Body on Trial2002, ABC-CLIO, OhioLINK Electronic Book Center
- Victims' Rights: A Reference Handbook1997, ABC-CLIO, OhioLINK Electronic Book Center
- Waging War on Trial: A Handbook with Cases, Laws, and Documents2003, ABC-CLIO, OhioLINK Electronic Book Center
- War Crimes and Justice: A Reference Handbook2002, ABC-CLIO, OhioLINK Electronic Book Center
- West's Encyclopedia of American LawCurrent information on legal topics. Covers such high-profile topics as the Americans with Disabilities Act, capital punishment, domestic violence, gay and lesbian rights, and physician-assisted suicide. (2nd ed., 2005, Gale Virtual Reference Library)
Starting Points
The following databases are excellent starting points when beginning legal research.
- LexisNexis LegalFull-text database containing federal and state case law and statutes; federal regulations; selected tax law sources; legal news; law reviews; Canadian statutes, regulations and case law; European Union law; case law from a small number of selected countries; patents; Martindale-Hubbell Law Directory; and law school information. Coverage and updating vary for each database.
- Legal Collection (EBSCO)Indexing and abstracts are provided for 250 scholarly publications on legal topics. Most titles are full-text, and some titles go back as far as 1965, but most do not. Our other full-text law collections do not have subject headings.
- Hein OnlineFull-text of the entire historical runs of more than 400 law journals with more being added regularly. Many are current to within the last couple of years. Other historical law sets available are the Federal Register (1936-1981), U.S. Reports (Supreme Court opinions), and United States Treaties sets.
- The Supreme Court DatabaseContains over two hundred pieces of information about each case decided by the Court between the 1953 and 2008 terms. Examples include the identity of the court whose decision the Supreme Court reviewed, the parties to the suit, the legal provisions considered in the case, and the votes of the Justices. From Washington University, St. Louis, Mo.
- United Nations Treaty CollectionFull text of treaties and international agreements registered or filed with the UN since 1946. The collection currently contains over 50,000 treaties. The database also includes other treaty-related data including Status of Multilateral Treaties Deposited with the Secretary-General (status of more than 500 major treaties).
- GPO AccessFull-text databases, finding aids, and other resources for locating federal government information. Databases cover congressional publications, laws, regulations, and key statistical and administrative publications such as the Economic Report of the President, the Budget of the U.S. Government, and the U.S. Government Manual.
- LexisNexis CongressionalLexisNexis Congressional offers access to a variety of information by and about the United States Congress. It indexes Congressional publications from 1789 to the present and provides access to CIS Legislative Histories for public laws (1970-). Full text is available for many publications including testimony from congressional hearings (1824-); committee reports (1830-); bill texts and status (1989-); Statutes at Large/laws (1789-); Congressional Serial Set (1789-1969) and Congressional Record.
- LexisNexis General: Easy SearchLexisNexis is an outstanding source for researching news, business, and legal topics. It contains more than 6,000 sources from all over the world, drawn from print, broadcast, and online media. Use the Easy Search form if you just need a quick answer to a simple query, you're not familiar with advanced searching methods, or you're not sure which sources to use. Enter any terms or phrases, with or without connectors, and Easy Search will determine the best searching method.
Subject Guide |
Links: Profile & Guides |
Government Information & Law Librarian |



Loading...
