Reference Books
What are reference books?
Reference books are things like encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks. They give you a nice background and some quick facts about your topic.
Why not Wikipedia?
Wikipedia is a great source of background information. The worry by some librarians and professors is that there is little control over changes made to entries. That being said, Wikipedia can be still be a useful tool. I like to use it for the suggestions for further reading and looking at the reference section (just like reading any article, the references can sometimes be the best part).
Check out the Statistics Portal from Wikipedia.
Dictionaries
We've got some dictionaries that you can use in the library (in print) and we have some that you can access electronically from anywhere!
A dictionary of statistics (M.U. only) - edited by Graham Upton
Nice online dictionary from Oxford Reference Online. Try searching all of Oxford Reference Online and see what else you can find.
The Cambridge Dictionary of Statistics - B.S. Everitt
Call Number: QA276.14 .E84 2006 (Sci Reference)
An in-depth dictionary of statistics. Available in the Science Library Reference Section (2nd floor).
Other Resources
Again, like dictionaries, we've got some other resources that can be very useful for you!
CRC standard probability and statistics tables and formulae - Stephen Kokoska, Daniel Zwillinger
Call Number: QA273.3 .K64 2000 (Sci 3rd floor)
This book contains many different tables and formulae that you might need. You can find it at the Science Library on the third floor and it can be checked out.
The Concise Encyclopedia of Statistics (M.U. only) - Yadolah Dodge
This online encyclopedia has entries on statistical methodology and biographies of statisticians.
Subject Guide |
Meghan Gamsby208 Brill Science Library
513-529-0191
gamsbymk@muohio.edu
Send Email
Subjects:
Chemistry and Biochemistry, Physics, Statistics
Description
Loading content... please wait
IM
Text
Email
Phone


Loading content... please wait