Current Full Text with Some Archive
- Ethnic NewsWatch (M. U. only) English and Spanish full-text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethinc press. Coverage: Varies by publication. The earliest is 1960.
- Factiva (M. U. only)Full-text business section coverage of all the major US and international newspapers, including The Wall Street Journal, The New York Times, and the London Times. Coverage: 1969-
- LexisNexis NewsEnglish language, full-text news sources and foreign language news. Coverage: Varies for each publication, but earliest is 1980-.
- Newspaper SourceIndexing for hundreds of newspapers, often but not always with full text. Coverage (varies by paper): Indexing 1979- ; full-text 1984-
- Ohio News Sources87 Ohio news sources including newspapers, blogs, newswires, transcripts and video content.
Comments (0)
Newspaper Archives
- Accessible Archives (M. U. only)Full text of primary historical resources from the 18th and 19th century, including Godey's Lady's Book, the Pennsylvania Gazette, South Carolina Gazette, and a database of 19th century African-American newspapers.
- Chicago Tribune Historical (M. U. only) Full-text image and indexing of the Chicago Tribune. Coverage: 1849-1985. (See America's Newspapers for 1985-Current.)
- Chronicling America: Historic American NewspapersSearch and view newspaper pages from 1880-1922 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.
- Early American NewspapersFull text of more than 1,000 U.S. newspapers published between 1690 and 1922, including titles from all 50 states.
- FBIS Daily Reports (M. U. only)Full-text translations of intercepted and clandestine broadcasts from foreign governments and occupied territories, and official news services. (1941 - 1996)
- New York Times Historical (M. U. only) Full text of the complete run of the New York Times. Coverage: 1851- three years ago. (Our current subscription is in Lexis-Nexis, which covers June 1, 1980 - current. 1969- May 31, 1980 are abstracts.)
- Times Digital Archive, 1785-1985. (M. U. only) Full-text London Times. Coverage: 1785-1985. (See Lexis-Nexis for July 01, 1985 through current.)
- Washington Post Historical (M. U. only) Full-text image and indexing of the Washington Post. Coverage: 1877-1990 (See America's Newspapers or Lexis-Nexis for 1977- current)
Newspaper Indexing Without Full Text
- Alternative Press IndexIndex to nearly 300 alternative, radical, and left periodicals that provide access to the practices and theories of radical social change. Coverage: 1991-
- Cincinnati Newspaper Index (NEWSDEX) Indexes selected articles on local topics from Cincinnati newspapers. Coverage: 19th century-
- Cleveland News Index Indexes local Cleveland, Ohio news stories, feature articles, and reviews primarily from the The Plain Dealer from 1983-1999. Coverage: 1983-
Newspaper Web Archives
- Chronicling America: Historic American NewspapersSearch and view newspaper pages from 1880-1910 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
- U.S. Newspaper Program Descriptions of newspaper preservation projects in all the states with links to individual state websites.
- Google News Archive SearchSearches a number of sources, including historical newspaper archives digitized by Google through their News Archive Partner Program and online archival materials that have been crawled. No longer being updated.
- Historical Newspapers and Indexes on the InternetList by state of historic newspaper projects and archives of specific newspaper titles.
- Historical Newspapers OnlineList from University of Pennsylvania of some of the historic newspapers that are available online. The site is from the University of Pennsylvania and includes subscriptions. We also subscribe to some of them.
Subject Guide |
Links: Profile & Guides |
Subject Guide |
Chat requires JavaScript. Links: Profile & Guides |


Loading...
