Map Blogs
Map blogs cover a wide range of related topics. Current events as well as updates.
- Making Maps: DIY Cartography
By John Krygier - The Map Room: A Weblog About Maps
By Jonathon Crowe - Free Geography Tools
It's more bloggy than the name implies. - Mapping Hacks
by Schuyler Erle, Rich Gibson and Jo Walsh - Google Maps Mania
An unofficial Google Maps blog tracking the websites, mashups and tools being influenced by Google Maps.
Making Maps: DIY Cartography
John Krygier keeps this blog of very interesting maps. Not updated every day, but every new post is thought provoking and intriguing.

Loading RSS Feed...
Suggest a Link
Suggest a resource or a useful Web site and help improve this Subject Guide.
Current Events, Timely Topics
Maps of Current Events and Timely Topics
Watch this list for updates. Be sure to come back to see what is new!
- HealthMap.org
Infectious diseases tracked from various sources, on a Google Maps application. - Swine Flu, Tracking the H1N1 Virus
A Google Maps tracker, from a website that 'crowdsources crisis information.' - H1N1 Swine Flu
Anotehr Google Maps mashup, from Dr. Henry Niman, who studies evolution of viruses. - Piracy Live Map
by International Marine Bureau, of International Chamber of Commerce, shows attacks and attempts on a Google Maps base. Live Piracy Report has location maps and reports of recent activity. - Earthquakes and Tsunamis
USGS Earthquake Hazards Program page, updated regularly. - Perry-Castañeda Library
Maps of Current Interest - Places in the News
From Library of Congress
Map Collections
Map Collections
Map Libraries and other large collections of online images.
- David Rumsey Map Collection
Over 10,000 images. Rare 18th- and 19th-century maps of North and South America. The world, Europe, Asia and Africa are also represented. Note: browser must be able to allow pop-up windows. - Map Collections: 1500 to Present
Digital images of maps of the Geography and Map Division of the Library of Congress. Featured are Americana and cartographic treasures of the Library. Also available are copyright free contemporary maps of countries and regions of the world. - Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection
JPEG, GIF, and PDF map images, at the University of Texas at Austin Library. Many of the maps were originally produced by federal government agencies. - Inici : La Cartoteca Digital
From Institut Cartografic de Catalunya (ICC), in Barcelona. Catalonian sailors pioneered the navigation chart over 500 years ago. Satellite imagery, maps of the Spanish Civil War, old maps of the Americas and other regions, and more.
Tools and Resources
Map projections, Outline maps, and other resources.
- Map Projections
By Peter Dana for the Geographer's Craft Project. - Gallery of Map Projections
By Paul B. Anderson - Map Projections
From Eric W. Weisstein's MathWorld by Wolfram Research. Includes mathematical derivations. - Map Projections
From About.com. - Blank Maps
Printable maps of countries of the world, from About.com. - Outline Maps
From Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, Education Place - Free Printable Maps
A blog of free maps, of all types and regions.
Subject Sources, Web Lists, and More
Map Lists and Search Engines
- Checklist of Online Vegetation and Plant Distribution Maps
Hosted at University of California, Berkeley, Library. Listed by continent and region, with links to the maps. - Map Gallery of Religion in the United States
Valparaiso created these maps showing religious preferences by county. This is information not collected by the U.S. Census. Data collected by Glenmary Research Center. - Oddens' Bookmarks
Search and browse for map images and information. Find maps, map collections, vendors, government agencies, university departments, and more. Roelof Oddens is at University of Utrecht, Netherlands. - The MapTube
Hosted by University College London, Centre for Advanced Spatial Analysis. Maps mostly of UK on a variety of interesting subjects.
Subject Guide |
Ken GrabachContact Info:
207 Brill Science Library
513-529-1726
grabacka@muohio.edu
Send Email
Subjects:
Geography, Geology, Mathematics, Mapping and Geospatial Imagery
207 Brill Science Library
513-529-1726
grabacka@muohio.edu
Send Email
Subjects:
Geography, Geology, Mathematics, Mapping and Geospatial Imagery
GIS LibGuide |
Mike WellsOnline Chat / Networks:
Contact Info:
Phone: 513-529-4148
Send Email
Subjects:
Manager- Center for Information Management
![]() |
Contact Info:
Phone: 513-529-4148
Send Email
Subjects:
Manager- Center for Information Management
Description
Loading content... please wait
IM
Text
Email
Phone



Submit a Link

Loading content... please wait