How to Find AtlasesHow to Find Topographic MapsHow to Find Vegetation Maps
Depository Maps and ToolsNew AtlasesNew Vegetation Maps
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Mapping and Geospatial Imagery 

Last update: Nov 06th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.lib.muohio.edu/maps  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Find Maps             Print Page
  
 

Search the Catalog

Search the catalog:
 
 

How to find maps

You can find maps in the MU Libraries collections in various ways.  But you probabaly want to know what kinds and formats of maps are available.  The Libraies have several types of maps.

Topographic maps of the United States  Known by various names: 7.5-minute series, each sheet or quadrangle shows 7.5 minutes of a degree of latitude North to South, and longitude West to East; 24,000 series, all sheets are at the uniform scale of 1:24,000 (exceptions, Alaska is at two smaller scales, Puerto Rico is at 1:20,000).  Covers all 50 states, and territories of Guam, Puerto Rico, and U.S. Virgin Islands.  Sets are arranged by state and by sheet name within the state set.  Index maps available for each state.  Series are listed in the Libraries catalog, with complete lists.  Find them in the catalog, here.  These sets include earlier editions, as well as the most recently available for each sheet.

Topo! CD-ROMs Topographic mapping for the 50 U.S. states is also available in a digital collection on CD-ROM.  Each set covers the entire state or group, with the most recent sheet available.  Display is seamless, with layers showing smaller scale maps.  Find these with a title search on the word Topo.

Other U.S. topographic maps, in sets at smaller scale than the main set.  The 15-minute series is the predecessor to the 7.5-minute sheets.  They were produced at approximately one inch to one mile, or 1:62,500.  We have selected sheets from this set, dating from the 1910s to 1940s.  Another set, at 1:250,000, covers the entire U.S.  And a large set at 1:100,000, is also available.  All three of these sets are filed near the General Maps described below.  These are not yet searchable in the catalog.

General Maps, Reference Maps, Thematic Maps of regions and countries of the world are listed in the Libraries Catalog, by "G" call numbers.  Small formats and folded travel maps are filed in Science Maps Cabinet.  Large format sheet maps and sets are filed next to these in large cases, Science Maps Collection.  Find these maps with a subject or keyword search.  Find regions and countries with a subject search of the country name and "maps", for example, "Pakistan Maps".  Find maps of places within a region or country by keyword, for example, "Karachi Maps".  Thematic maps, showing topical information for a region or country are filed with other maps of the same place.  Once you have found the region you are interested in, browse through the results or in the files to see what thematics are available.

Geologic Maps, thematic maps of geologic themes, of the United States, the 50 states, and regions and countries of the world, are filed near the General Maps.

Vegetation Maps, showing themes of plant vegetation and related topics, are available in the Küchler Vegetation Map Collection. The collection was compiled by plant geographer, A.W. Küchler.  All regions of the world are represented. Recently added and acquired maps supplement this collection.  Access to these maps is by appointment with the Maps Librarian.  These maps are listed in the Libraries Catalog.  Search by keyword or subject, using phytogeography or other term, the name of the region, country or locality, and maps.  For example here are results for a keyword search, Phytogeography India Maps.

 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageKen Grabach
Contact Info:
207 Brill Science Library
513-529-1726
grabacka@muohio.edu
Send Email

Subjects:
Geography, Geology, Mathematics, Mapping and Geospatial Imagery

GIS LibGuide

Profile ImageMike Wells
Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
Phone: 513-529-4148
Send Email

Subjects:
Manager- Center for Information Management

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait